Important News

Pariksha Par Charcha 2.0  Rashtriya Ekta Diwas - 2018 Pics in Co Curricular Gallery under Students Section:: HELP DESK FOR JNVST 2019-20 - Click here  NOTICE: Applicants of JNVST Class-VI, 2019-20  Notification   &  Registration   NOTICE: ADMISSIN TEST  FOR  CLASS IX DURING 2019-20 AGAINST VACANT SEATS  NOTIC : Click here to Register for class  IX Lateral entery Admission for 2018-19  


In past, Karwi city was a tehsil in Banda district. On 6 May 1997 Government of Uttar Pradesh carved out a new district Chitrakoot (Initially named as Chhatrapati Shahuji Mahraj- Nagar) from Banda district. Since then the city is serving as district headquarters.

Some of the famous sages like Dattatreya, Sarbhanga, Markandeya, Atri and many other soothsayers, pilgrims and philosophers have carried out meditation here. The triad of Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh embodied the great sage Dattatreya also revered as 'Lord Dattatreya' for the triad in one body.



The city's coordinates are 25° North and 81° East. It is bounded in the north by Kaushambi, in the south by Satna(M.P.) & Rewa (M.P.), in the east by Allahabad (Prayag), in the west by Banda. Chitrakoot Dham (Karwi) is situated on the bank of River Mandakini.



  • Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Girls Degree College
  • Sanskrit College, Taronha
  • Goshwami Tulshidas Government College 



Hanuman Dhara

Sati Anusuya Temple

Ganesh Bagh

Janaki Kund

Kamtaji Temple

Sphatik Shila


Languages: Bundeli , Hindi and English